Mission: Impossible- Fallout

Wow. Believe me when I say, this is the best Mission Impossible installment thus far. And to me, that’s saying a lot for this successful franchise. I know that some people just simply don’t want any more of these movies (like me with Transformers…sorry?) but not me! I can’t get enough of these films, even though they stress me out the first time around! And this time was no different, I couldn’t get enough of the on-the-edge-of-your-seat nail-biting action! Without further ado, let’s talk about it! Oh, and SPOILERS ahead.

The action starts instantly, and never really lets up. I think that’s why this movie is so good! The fight scenes, the ending with the bomb diffusion, our favorite characters almost dying more than once… this movie had it all! It picks up where the last movie left off, with the plotline of the Syndicate created by Solomon Lane. They do take it in a bit of a different direction, with a group called The Apostles, but the bones are basically the same. A group tries to bring about peace by destroying everything, you know the drill. So, the IMF try to thwart the evil plan, as per usual. Of course, all the classic characters are back (minus Jeremy Renner), which is needed when you have a big series like this. The story is well written. It actually made me believe that Ethan and his team couldn’t save everyone. In fact, I actually started to overthink everything while I was watching it all unfold! Only a handful of movies have done that for me, including Infinity War. Yes, I would consider this movie in the same ranking as IW, it’s that good! There were plenty of callbacks to the previous movies, which are a must have in a series like this. There was humor as always, but it wasn’t cheesy or forced. There were iconic moments as well! One, has basically reached every corner of the internet. Henry Cavill’s character doing the “reloading his guns” punch (this was in the trailer too!) If you haven’t heard or seen it, please do yourself a favor and search for it on Google (or better yet, Twitter!). I mean, he punches so hard he makes a shirt pocket appear and his beard grows thicker. Wow. I thought Cavill’s character was a nice addition to the film, although I missed Jeremy Renner. Cavill’s character was one that was fairly predictable, with just the right amount of mystery. I for one, think the bathroom fight scene was one of the best in the general category of fight scenes! Oh, and this movie certainly had enough plot twists to make your head spin. It was filled with both the “OKAY WHAT!?!” and the “I saw that one coming!” twists that make watching movies so irresistible. And that, is how I would sum this movie up, irresistible. I know I couldn’t get enough of it!

So, your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to go see Mission: Impossible-Fallout as soon as you can!

-Ash

Categories:

Leave a comment